Tootsie Roll Industries
According to Tootsie Rolls Industries, the following candies are gluten-free per our conversation with a representative, September 3, 2014.
According to their website; “At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”
- Tootsie Rolls
- Fruit Rolls
- Tropical Dots
- Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
- Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
- Junior Mints
- Charleston Chew
- Junior Caramels
- Tootsie Pops
- Tootsie Peppermint Pops
- Caramel Apple Pops
- Fruit Smoothie Pops
- Tropical Stormz Pops
- Child’s Play
- Charms Blow Pops
- Charms Super Blow Pops
- Charms Pops
- Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
- Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
- Sugar Daddy Pops
- Sugar Mama Caramels
- Charms Squares
- Charms Sour Balls
- Charms Candy Carnival
- Pops Galore
- Sugar Babies
These Tootsie Roll products also are peanut-free and nut-product free, according to the company website.
Contact Tootsie Roll Industries at 773-838-3400 http://www.tootsie.com/
Contact Wrigley at (800) 974-4539
Contacted September 3, 2014
These are the only products a Wrigley’s customer service agent told us that contain gluten.
- Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)
• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)
The packaging does list their candy to be gluten free. They make candy such as, starburst, juicy fruit, starburst and many more.
- 3 Musketeers, all sizes
- M&M regular, milk chocolate and Peanut (all seasonal flavors are NOT GF)
- M&M Peanut butter
- Mini M&M in the bag and tube
- Snickers all sizes (not seasonal items)
- Dove milk and dark chocolate (GF and Peanut free, tree nut free)
Last update according to the website was March 5, 2014. (Partial listing from website)
- Almond Joy Candy – All Except Almond Joy Pieces Candy
- Dagoba Baking and Beverage – All
- Heath Bars – All
- Hershey’s Kisses Mini kisses Milk Chocolate
- Hershey’s Kisses Candies
- Hersheys Kisses Milk Chocolate
- Hershey’s Kisses Filled Chocolates
- Hershey’s Nuggets Chocolates
- Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
- Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
- Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
- Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. only)
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45 oz. only)
- Hershey’s Air Delight Aerated Milk Chocolate Bar
- Hershey’s Milk Duds – All
- Payday Candy- All
- Reese’s Peanut butter Cups - All Except Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped items
- Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces eggs
- Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo Minis
- Scharffen Berger – All Except Scharffen Berger Cocoa Powder
Website has an assortment of Candy and baking items listed to be gluten free.
Spoke to a customer service agent 9/3/2013.
The modified food starch listed on some of the packaging is cornstarch.
*Items containing gluten: Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels.
This company makes 150 different candies. The following list is a partial list, reprinted with permission.
Jelly Belly Beans:
All, including specialty Halloween beans and Disney “Frozen” Beans.
- Candy Corn (Fun pack and Gourmet)
- Bertie Bott’s
- and Harry Potter Jelly Slugs
- Orange Slices
- Fruit Gems
- Citrus Mix
Makes a wide variety of allergen free candy
Spoke to a Customer Service Agent 9-3-2014
Contact Nestle USA at 800-225-2270
- Butterfinger: Regular original Bars (bites, fun size) and Peanut butter cups
- Baby Ruth
- Nips: Caramel, Chocolate Parfait, Coffee
Wonka Candy (owned by Nestle Corporation)
The following products are run on separate lines free of cross contamination verified by a customer service agent on 9-3-2014 by Nestle.
Wonka does test their candy, and if candy is run on lines containing gluten containing ingredients, they will declare this on the label. The following candy is run on separate lines, free of gluten containing ingredients.
- Laffy Taffy
- Sweet Tarts (Regular) in US only
- Bottle Caps
- Pixy Stix
Contact Nestle USA at 800-225-2270.
Spangler Candy Company
According to their website the following items are labeled gluten free.
A customer agent told us all their candy was gluten free
- Cherry Vanilla
- Orange Vanilla
- Strawberry Vanilla
Others: Website state these are on dedicated lines. Starlight Peppermint mints, Classic Cinnamon discs
According to website: September 3, 2013
We offer many gluten-free products under the MIKE AND IKE®, HOT TAMALES®, PEEPS®, GOLDENBERG’S PEANUT CHEWS®, TEENEE BEANEE® and JUST BORN® brands and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate. The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch. However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information. For further questions, please call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.
Gluten Free Peeps
- Sugar Free Pumpkins
- Marshmallow Pumpkins
- Milk Chocolate Covered Pumpkins
- Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins
- Marshmallow Ghosts
- Chocolate Mousse Flavored Cats
- Milk Chocolate Dipped Orange Chicks
*Not all peeps are gluten free, however, label will state if product is gluten free.
Endangered Species (all chocolate is certified gluten free, verified from website on 9-8-2013)
Bug Bites (perfect size for Halloween)
Cliff Fruit Rope
All flavors free of gluten and dyes
This company does a great job with labeling products on their website http://www.clifbar.com/text/allergen-table#clif_kid_zbar
Enjoy life Foods
Organic Soy-free Dark Chocolate Chips
Gimbal’s candies are peanut-free, tree nut-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free. These ingredients are responsible for countless allergic reactions across the nation. Many Gimbal’s consumers have personally thanked us for making our candies available to them. We are happy to create delicious treats that can be enjoyed by so many people, including those living with food allergies.
- Gourmet Jelly Beans
- Cinnamon Lovers
- Valentine Sour Lovers
- Sour Gourmet Jelly Beans
- Sour Lovers
- Cherry Lovers
- Lava Balls
- Licorice Scotties
- Red Scotties
- Seasonal Candies
This company offers a wide variety of gluten free, tree nut free and peanut free candy listed on their site.
Other Baking Supplies
Rodelle Baking Cocoa, European Dutch Processed
Pascha Organic semi-sweet dark chocolate chips
Earth Balance: Organic Coconut Spread
Earth Balance: Vegan buttery sticks
Some of the local grocery store chains do carry a gluten free list. These lists are often not updated regularly, so keep this in mind if using a grocery store list.
Please always verify labeling pertaining to your individual health conditions. Manufacturing can change. Holiday candy is especially questionable, because they can be packaged in another facility that may have cross contamination.
Candy ingredients may be gluten free to start, but processing can sometimes make the item not gluten free. This is similar to putting gluten free bread in a gluten toaster. The gluten free bread would no longer be gluten free because of cross contamination. For people with Celiac Disease, it is crucial to prevent cross contamination.
Tips for Handling Halloween
Buy candy that is gluten free and place in a small Ziploc sandwich bag and take to a few selected neighbors (3-4) that are friends. Explain your child has a medical issue with food and ask them if they would mind giving this bag of candy to your child instead of other candy they are handing out. If they are friends, most will agree. Label with your child’s name. Have child say there name when they get to the neighbor’s house. You can go up to the door with them so the Neighbor will remember the candy bag. Be sure and send thank you notes the next day.
Sort through all candy when they get home and exchange for candy you have bought that is gluten free. Put an assortment of different kinds of candy in small Ziplocs ahead of time.
You can also barter candy for restaurant gift cards, target gift cards, movie tickets, skating rink passes, bowling tickets or other items for older children.
What to do with the leftover candy?
Donate extra candy left over to your school, place of employment, food bank or your local dental offices.
Please note to use this Candy List as a guide. Please verify labels and ingredients pertaining to your own medical condition. I nor this site claims any liability for providing this gluten free list.